IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> mininova.com, suprnova.com all over again?
archy
post Apr 8 2005, 07:57 PM
Post #1


Master
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,002
Joined: 16-March 05
Member No.: 659



cant find any posts on this already warning about this, mininova.com is a scam site that asks for subscriptions to view mininova.org's contents probably the same people that created the suprnova.com scam site.
Sorry if this in the wrong section mods.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Grees
post Apr 9 2005, 09:15 AM
Post #2


Expert
****

Group: Ex-moderators
Posts: 854
Joined: 18-March 05
From: What do you care
Member No.: 794



Good one.
We'll see if we can make an official post about this.


--------------------
-Icecream is good. Letting a 12 year old kid stearing the plane while you're taking a leak, is bad-
-Good times are always in the past, for how do you know its good untill its over-
-Time is like icecream, stare at it too much and it will just melt away-
-Making quasi philosophical remarks is like peeing on sidewalks, anyone can do it-
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Niek
post Apr 9 2005, 11:45 AM
Post #3


Mininova staff
****

Group: Admin
Posts: 746
Joined: 14-March 05
Member No.: 2



Hadn't noticed that one till now sad.gif

I'm really sorry about this, but I'm afraid we can't do anything about these lame scam sites. I don't feel so much for posting a warning at the homepage like SuprNova did, that's just advertising for the guys sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Grees
post Apr 9 2005, 12:26 PM
Post #4


Expert
****

Group: Ex-moderators
Posts: 854
Joined: 18-March 05
From: What do you care
Member No.: 794



To bad
It a shame sites like that exist.


--------------------
-Icecream is good. Letting a 12 year old kid stearing the plane while you're taking a leak, is bad-
-Good times are always in the past, for how do you know its good untill its over-
-Time is like icecream, stare at it too much and it will just melt away-
-Making quasi philosophical remarks is like peeing on sidewalks, anyone can do it-
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
itscooltohate
post Apr 9 2005, 12:28 PM
Post #5


King
******

Group: Ex-moderators
Posts: 3,073
Joined: 16-March 05
From: UK
Member No.: 633



It realy aint rite!! wish there was sumt we could do!!


--------------------

Want ftp access to my 750gb high speed server full of films, games and music? PM me for details


Tutorials Section - For help installing/burning/playing any files you come accross!!
Password Section - Please look here before requesting passwords!! Also use the Search button!!
Rules - Please read before posting!!
Solops2 Passwords - All the solops2 PS2 Passwords!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
archy
post Apr 9 2005, 04:01 PM
Post #6


Master
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,002
Joined: 16-March 05
Member No.: 659



I only noticed it yesterday when i accidentally typed com instead of org, im just worried that people will think it is the real mininova then come on to these fourms and start to complain about being scammed.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
seamonkeys1
post Apr 13 2005, 05:52 AM
Post #7


Advanced Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 200
Joined: 16-March 05
From: South America
Member No.: 649



It doesnt even look like mininova.org i just went there after i got done reading this post
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Niek
post Apr 13 2005, 06:35 AM
Post #8


Mininova staff
****

Group: Admin
Posts: 746
Joined: 14-March 05
Member No.: 2



QUOTE (seamonkeys1 @ Apr 13 2005, 05:52 AM)
It doesnt even look like mininova.org i just went there after i got done reading this post
*

I mailed the owner of the site and he replaced the scam site with a 'normal' domain parking site. At least no money is stoled from visitors anymore.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wantu2much
post Apr 18 2005, 12:25 AM
Post #9


Thats MAJOR spamer to you.
****

Group: Ex-moderators
Posts: 741
Joined: 15-March 05
From: Ontario, Canada
Member No.: 203



you know the best thing imatation is the sinserest form of flattery. exuse the spelling


--------------------


Not seeing the video. Try Vlc Media player

Always check in the approprate section for you anwser before you post.

"Son, if you really want something in this life, you have to work for it.
Now quiet!
They're about to announce the lottery numbers."
Homer Simpson
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TRX
post Apr 22 2005, 09:08 PM
Post #10


Expert
****

Group: Ex-moderators
Posts: 746
Joined: 29-March 05
From: England, UK
Member No.: 1,440



i wish it was possible for a few thousand users to get together to crash the site by hammering it, or just DDoS it. these scam sites deserve everything they get.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pj the poor
post Apr 23 2005, 11:18 PM
Post #11


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 23-April 05
Member No.: 4,504



we could all just do a low base hack and and few email cracks if we get into thier main server we can prob just open a few more ports for us to "go nuts"

its not that hard
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
archy
post Apr 24 2005, 01:12 AM
Post #12


Master
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,002
Joined: 16-March 05
Member No.: 659



no need, the address is no longer pointing to a scam site its now just advertising usenet access.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ur3838
post Apr 24 2005, 05:11 PM
Post #13


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 15-April 05
Member No.: 3,264



QUOTE (archy @ Apr 24 2005, 02:12 AM)
no need, the address is no longer pointing to a scam site its now just advertising usenet access.
*


I had the same probelm yesterday for a while, but now seems to be oked without going to Usenet site
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wantu2much
post Apr 25 2005, 03:29 PM
Post #14


Thats MAJOR spamer to you.
****

Group: Ex-moderators
Posts: 741
Joined: 15-March 05
From: Ontario, Canada
Member No.: 203



thats good that they "chose" to change their product that they were deiling with.


--------------------


Not seeing the video. Try Vlc Media player

Always check in the approprate section for you anwser before you post.

"Son, if you really want something in this life, you have to work for it.
Now quiet!
They're about to announce the lottery numbers."
Homer Simpson
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th December 2009 - 11:55 AM